Electrical Permit in Williamson County, Tennessee
Permit required
Yes, a permit is required
For all electrical work on projects within unincorporated Williamson County
Issued byState of Tennessee, Dept. of Commerce and Insurance CORE system (Comprehensive Online Regulatory and Enforcement System); not administered by Williamson County Building Codes
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
Electrical permits for all projects within unincorporated Williamson County are obtained through the State of Tennessee, not the county Building Codes Department. The Williamson County Building Codes page states verbatim: Electrical permits for all projects within the unincorporated county are available through the State of TN at www.core.tn.gov. This is why Williamson County's own 2021 IRC adoption explicitly excludes Chapters 34-43 (electrical). Apply for and manage electrical permits through the state's CORE system at core.tn.gov.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
For all electrical work on projects within unincorporated Williamson County
What an electrical permit costs in Williamson County
How Williamson County compares in Tennessee
No Tennessee jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|
| Memphis | Permit required | E-0 fee issuance cost per permit $20.00, E3.1 minimum fee $15.00, E-6.2... |
| Nashville | Permit required | Flat minimum of $75 per permit with itemized add-on charges for circuits... |
| Williamson Countythis page | Permit required | State-issued via the TN CORE system: a $5 issuing fee plus ampere-based... |
How to apply in Williamson County
In Williamson County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For Williamson County, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For Williamson County, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. State of Tennessee, Dept. of Commerce and Insurance CORE system (Comprehensive Online Regulatory and Enforcement System); not administered by Williamson County Building Codes sets the exact checklist for Williamson County.
Where to apply in Williamson County:
State of Tennessee, Dept. of Commerce and Insurance CORE system (Comprehensive Online Regulatory and Enforcement System); not administered by Williamson County Building Codes
- 1320 West Main Street, Suite 400, Franklin, TN 37064
- Phone: 615-790-5718
Electrical Permit in Williamson County compared with nearby Tennessee localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Tennessee schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Williamson County | Permit required | Not specified | State-issued via the TN CORE system: a $5 issuing fee plus ampere-based inspection fees... | |
| Memphis | Permit required | Not specified | E-0 fee issuance cost per permit $20.00, E3.1 minimum fee $15.00, E-6.2 EXISTING... | |
| Nashville | Permit required | Not specified | Flat minimum of $75 per permit with itemized add-on charges for circuits, panels... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Williamson County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In Williamson County: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In Williamson County: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Williamson County: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In Williamson County: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In Williamson County: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In Williamson County: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In Williamson County: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Williamson County permit portal or by phone at 615-790-5718.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for Williamson County
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: For all electrical work on projects within unincorporated Williamson County.
- Budget the fee. State-issued via the TN CORE system: a $5 issuing fee plus ampere-based inspection fees of $35 each for rough-in and final at 0-200 amp service, rising to $40 (201-400 amp), $50 (401-600 amp) and $90 (601-1000 amp), under the state fee rule effective July 14 2025.
- Apply. In Williamson County, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the Williamson County permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. State of Tennessee, Dept. of Commerce and Insurance CORE system (Comprehensive Online Regulatory and Enforcement System); not administered by Williamson County Building Codes. Phone: 615-790-5718. Address: 1320 West Main Street, Suite 400, Franklin, TN 37064.
- Plan for inspections. In Williamson County, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in Williamson County?
- Electrical permits for all projects within unincorporated Williamson County are obtained through the State of Tennessee, not the county Building Codes Department. The Williamson County Building Codes page states verbatim: Electrical permits for all projects within the unincorporated county are available through the State of TN at www.core.tn.gov. This is why Williamson County's own 2021 IRC adoption explicitly excludes Chapters 34-43 (electrical). Apply for and manage electrical permits through the state's CORE system at core.tn.gov. Always confirm with the State of Tennessee, Dept. of Commerce and Insurance CORE system (Comprehensive Online Regulatory and Enforcement System); not administered by Williamson County Building Codes before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in Williamson County?
- State-issued via the TN CORE system: a $5 issuing fee plus ampere-based inspection fees of $35 each for rough-in and final at 0-200 amp service, rising to $40 (201-400 amp), $50 (401-600 amp) and $90 (601-1000 amp), under the state fee rule effective July 14 2025. Contact the office for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Williamson County?
- You can apply through the Williamson County permit portal or contact the State of Tennessee, Dept. of Commerce and Insurance CORE system (Comprehensive Online Regulatory and Enforcement System); not administered by Williamson County Building Codes directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Williamson County?
- Under Tennessee law (T.C.A. 62-6-103; Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0780-02-23-.01(1)(i), -.05(3), -.05(4)(b)2.; Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0780-02-01-.05(2)(a)): Tennessee lets a homeowner act as their own builder. Under T.C.A. 62-6-103, as the State Fire Marshal's Office explains it, an owner may construct a single residence once every two years for personal use without a contractor's license, so long as the home is not for resale, lease, or rent, and anyone the homeowner hires whose portion of the work is $25,000 or more must be a licensed contractor. In state permit areas the owner pulls a property owner's permit, limited by rule to one per 24 month period, and the work is subject to the same inspections and fees as a contractor's job; proof of licensure is waived at permit purchase only when the owner personally performs the work. For electrical work, a homeowner may wire their own residence only after obtaining a residential property owner's electrical permit, which covers only the applicant and immediate family, does not authorize help from anyone unlicensed, and is limited to one per 12 month period unless the owner lost the home to fire or windstorm. Confirm how Williamson County applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Williamson County
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Deck permits follow the county's general building permit valuation table: no fee for... |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Mechanical Permit Fee Schedule: $10.00 permit fee plus $10.00 for the first $1,000 of... |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Plumbing Permit Fee Schedule: $10.00 for issuing each permit, plus $5.00 for water and... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | Swimming pools designed or able to hold water more than 30 inches deep in unincorporated Williamson County require a building permit; pools designed to hold 30 inches of water or less, temporary pools, above-ground pools with no permanent filter system or decking, and pools not left up year-round are exempt from the permit requirement. | No pool-specific line |
| Roof Replacement Permit | No permit needed | Not specified | No permit or fee |
Electrical Permit in other Tennessee localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Williamson County documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for Williamson County was verified. 3 official sources: williamsoncounty-tn.gov, core.tn.gov, williamsoncounty-tn.gov. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with State of Tennessee, Dept. of Commerce and Insurance CORE system (Comprehensive Online Regulatory and Enforcement System); not administered by Williamson County Building Codes. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Tennessee localities
Permit office
State of Tennessee, Dept. of Commerce and Insurance CORE system (Comprehensive Online Regulatory and Enforcement System); not administered by Williamson County Building Codes
615-790-5718Permit portalTennessee rule changes
- Metro Nashville posts a current codes fee schedule, replacing the 2010 sheet
BL2022-1215 (Metro Fee Schedule Legislation) ·