Do you need a deck permit in North Carolina?
By Mario Bailey Last checked
- Always required
- 2
- of 4 jurisdictions
- Conditional
- 2
- depends on size or scope
- Not required
- 0
- exempt outright
Deck Permit rules nationwide, beyond North Carolina.
Requirements and size thresholds for deck permits vary by locality. The table below compares what each North Carolina county or city requires. Always confirm with the local office before starting.
Comparing states? See deck permit rules across every locality we cover.
The application steps and inspection sequence for deck permits come from the model code rather than from North Carolina law, so they read the same wherever you build. We keep that walkthrough in one place: how a deck permit application and its inspections work, start to finish. What changes between North Carolina jurisdictions is below: who requires a permit, what they charge, and which office you file with.
Swipe sideways to see thresholds and confidence.
| Locality | Permit required? | Typical threshold | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Charlotte | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Greensboro | Conditional | Not specified | From an official source |
| Mecklenburg County | Yes | Not specified | From an official source |
| Wake County | Conditional | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| No localities match your filter. | |||
What a deck permit costs in North Carolina
4 North Carolina jurisdictions we cover publish a fee figure for this work. Each line is quoted from that office's own schedule and linked to its citation. The figures are not comparable to one another: some are flat minimums, some a percentage of job value, some charged per fixture, so what you pay depends on which schedule applies and on your job's valuation.
Mecklenburg County prices the deck building permit off total construction permit value under the LUESA Fee Ordinance (revised July 1, 2026): $1 to $3,000 is a $59.70 minimum fee per trade for projects not requiring plan review and $3,001 to $50,000 is '$59.70 plus $12.19 per $1,000 or part over $3,000', plus a $3.00 technology charge on all permits. Owner-as-contractor projects under $40,000 in total construction permit value instead pay $60.00 per BEMP trade base permit fee, $45.00 per BEMP trade plan review if required and $45.00 per inspection trip, with the inspection trip capped at 30 minutes on site. The City of Charlotte FY 2025 Individual Residential Lot Fee Schedule charges $50 Stormwater Services Review for 'Additions, Deck, Pool, Retaining Wall, Shed, Detached Structure' plus $70 Residential Zoning, effective for projects submitted July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2025.
last checked
Building Permit Fee Schedule, Document #1005 dated 12/19/24: 'Minimum permit fee - $85'. The residential Alt/Add column charges the $85.00 minimum on construction values up to $11,000 and rises above that ($88.00 at $12,000, $127.00 at $25,000, $302.00 at $100,000, then '$100,000 - 500,000 = $302.00 PLUS $2.00 PER $1,000'). 'STATE LICENSED CONTRACTORS: Add $10.00 to all Residential Permits'. 'DOUBLE PERMIT FEE: BUILDING PERMIT FEES WILL BE DOUBLED IF WORK IS BEGUN BEFORE SECURING A PERMIT'. The department page adds that 'The minimum permit fee for building, electrical, mechanical, and plumbing permits has increased from $75 to $85.'
last checked
Trade permit priced off total construction value with a $59.70 minimum for projects not requiring plan review plus $12.19 per $1,000 over $3,000 and a $3 technology charge per permit, per the LUESA Fee Ordinance revised July 1 2026
last checked
Decks are named in the Residential Additions, Alterations, Accessory Building & Structures line: 'This fee includes permits for additions, alterations, repairs, sheds, attached/detached garages, retaining walls, porches, decks, solar panels, closed crawlspaces, etc.' The fee is 'Residential Permit Fee $75 plus $0.25 per square foot of gross floor area.'
last checked
Jurisdictions not listed publish no dollar figure we could quote. Absence does not mean a permit is free.
Common questions about deck permits in North Carolina
- Do I need a deck permit in North Carolina?
- In North Carolina it depends on the size of the job. Permits are issued locally, so the answer comes from your North Carolina city or county rather than a single statewide rule. Of the 4 North Carolina jurisdictions we have verified for deck work, 2 require a permit outright, 2 depend on the size or scope of the job, and 0 require none.
- Is there a deck permit exemption in North Carolina?
- 2 of the 4 North Carolina jurisdictions we cover set a threshold rather than a flat rule, so the same job can be exempt in one North Carolina county and permitted in the next. The table above lists each North Carolina jurisdiction's published threshold in its own words, with the source and the date we verified it.
Ready to move on your deck permit?
Hire it out
Sponsored
If a contractor builds your deck, they usually handle the permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.
Compare deck contractor quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.