Nevada / Henderson

Solar Permit in Henderson, Nevada

Permit required

We could not confirm this

Before installing any residential rooftop or ground-mounted solar PV system

Based on building code Verified

Issued byCity of Henderson Building and Fire Safety

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Permit fee
$700
from the published schedule

Quick answer

Henderson's Building and Fire Safety Standard Designs list and FAQ system do not include a dedicated solar-permit page or exemption. A permit is required for residential solar PV installation because the work involves both structural roof attachment and electrical wiring governed by the city's adopted 2024 International Residential Code and 2023 National Electric Code with Southern Nevada Amendments; no solar-specific exemption is published.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Before you sign, ask the contractor:

  • Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
  • Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
  • Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?

When a permit is usually needed

Before installing any residential rooftop or ground-mounted solar PV system

What a solar permit costs in Henderson

Line item
solar permit$700$700 for a residential photovoltaic system up to 10 kW plus $176 per additional 10 kW on the same system, battery and EV receptacle add-ons priced separately, per the DSC Schedule of Fees effective 10/01/2025.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How to apply in Henderson

In Henderson, a rooftop solar PV permit application is a combined structural and electrical plan set: a site plan and roof framing details proving the array's mounting can carry its added loads, plus a one line electrical diagram covering listed modules and inverters, disconnects, and the rapid shutdown design. Utility interconnection is a separate approval that runs in parallel with the permit.

What most solar permit applications include:

  • Both a building permit and a separate electrical permit are required, since the array must be designed and installed to the residential code's solar provisions and to the National Electrical Code (IRC R324.3).
  • For Henderson, the plan set identifies listed equipment: PV modules listed to UL 1703 (or both UL 61730-1 and UL 61730-2), and inverters listed to UL 1741, with grid-tied inverters listed for utility interaction (IRC R324.3.1).
  • Structural drawings show that the roof framing is designed to structurally support the array and withstand the gravity loads it adds (IRC R324.4.1).
  • For Henderson, the site plan lays out roof access pathways at least 36 inches wide, plus a ridge setback sized to how much of the roof the array covers, so firefighters retain pathways and ventilation access (IRC R324.6.1, IRC R324.6.2).
  • For Henderson, the one line electrical diagram shows the rapid shutdown method and the location of its single initiation device, since one control point must bring all system conductors down to safe levels (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  • Interconnecting the array to the utility grid at a defined point of connection is a separate application process from the local building or electrical permit and must be approved before the system can operate (NEC 705.12).
  • Some permitting offices route applications through SolarAPP+, an automated review platform that checks the plan set against code requirements and issues eligible permits instantly (DOE SolarAPP+).

General submittal guidance from IRC 2021 R324 (Solar Energy Systems) and NEC 2020 Article 690 (Solar Photovoltaic Systems) and Article 705 (Interconnected Power Production Sources). Source. City of Henderson Building and Fire Safety sets the exact checklist for Henderson.

Where to apply in Henderson:

City of Henderson Building and Fire Safety

Solar Permit in Henderson compared with nearby Nevada localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Nevada schedule saysVerified
HendersonPermit requiredNot specified$700 for a residential photovoltaic system up to 10 kW plus $176 per additional 10 kW on...
Clark CountyPermit requiredNot specifiedNo dedicated solar fee table

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Henderson, inspectors verify the installed array against the approved plans, and some agencies run a rough check of roof attachments and penetrations while they are still exposed before the wiring and roofing close them in. The final inspection confirms rapid shutdown, disconnects, grounding, and required labels are installed correctly, and the system cannot be energized until the utility separately approves interconnection.

  1. In Henderson: where an agency runs a rough or pre-inspection, it checks the array's roof penetrations while they are still exposed, confirming they are flashed and sealed (IRC R324.4.3).
  2. In Henderson: the inspector confirms whether rapid shutdown is required, how it is accomplished, and that it is properly identified (NEC 690.12, NEC 690.56(C)).
  3. In Henderson: pV disconnecting means must be permanently marked and installed where they are readily accessible, which the inspector confirms in the field (NEC 690.13).
  4. In Henderson: bonding and grounding of the array, including every exposed non current carrying metal part and the grounding electrode system, is checked before sign off (NEC 690.43, NEC 690.47).
  5. In Henderson: at the service equipment, the inspector looks for the required rapid shutdown placard, a labeled diagram showing the initiation device's location in the specified colors and letter sizes (NEC 690.56(C)).
  6. In Henderson: utility interconnection is inspected and approved separately from the local building department's sign off, and the system cannot be energized until both approvals are in hand (NEC 705.12).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Henderson permit portal or by phone at (702) 267-3620.

Inspection sequence from NEC 2020 Article 690 (690.12 rapid shutdown, 690.13 disconnects, 690.43/690.47 grounding, 690.56 labeling) and IRC 2021 R324.4.3 (roof penetrations). Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a solar permit in Henderson?
Henderson's Building and Fire Safety Standard Designs list and FAQ system do not include a dedicated solar-permit page or exemption. A permit is required for residential solar PV installation because the work involves both structural roof attachment and electrical wiring governed by the city's adopted 2024 International Residential Code and 2023 National Electric Code with Southern Nevada Amendments; no solar-specific exemption is published. Always confirm with the City of Henderson Building and Fire Safety before starting.
How much does a solar permit cost in Henderson?
$700 for a residential photovoltaic system up to 10 kW plus $176 per additional 10 kW on the same system, battery and EV receptacle add-ons priced separately, per the DSC Schedule of Fees effective 10/01/2025. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a solar permit in Henderson?
You can apply through the Henderson permit portal or contact the City of Henderson Building and Fire Safety directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a solar permit themselves in Henderson?
Under Nevada law (NRS 624.031(5), 624.031(6); NRS 278.610): Nevada licenses general contractors and the specialty trades together under one Contractors Board license in NRS chapter 624, and NRS 624.031(5) exempts an owner of property who is building or improving a residential structure on the property for the owner's own occupancy and not intended for sale or lease. Because Nevada does not license electricians and plumbers under separate chapters the way some states do, this same owner-occupant exemption also covers trade work done on the project, as long as it is for the owner's own home rather than resale. Selling or leasing the newly built structure, or even just offering it for sale or lease, within 1 year after completion creates a rebuttable presumption that the owner never intended to occupy it and built it to sell instead, which can defeat the exemption. An owner who wants to use the exemption must apply to the Contractors Board, which sets the requirements for granting it by regulation. The exemption only reaches the state contractor license requirement; it does not excuse the owner from the local building permit itself, which NRS 278.610 still requires from whichever city or county building official has jurisdiction. A separate, unrelated exemption in NRS 624.031(6) lets anyone, owner or not, do minor repair or maintenance work worth less than $1,000 without a license, unless a building permit is required for the work or the work is plumbing, electrical, refrigeration, heating, or air conditioning work. Confirm how Henderson applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Henderson

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Deck PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedItemized as Residential Deck/Patio Enclosure: $326 for the first 200 sq ft from a...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNo single flat electrical fee, charged per component: $190 per service including the...
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specified$360 to install or relocate a furnace up to 100,000 BTU/hr including ducts, $227 per...
Patio PermitPermit requiredNot specified$298 for the first 200 sq ft of a standard-plan residential patio plus $14 per...
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNo single flat plumbing fee, charged per fixture group: $189 per each 10 fixtures...
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specified$712 for a residential pool/spa combination plus $772 standard pool plan check
Roof Replacement PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNot published

Solar Permit in other Nevada localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Henderson documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this solar permit page for Henderson was verified. 2 official sources: cityofhenderson.com, cityofhenderson.com; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of Henderson Building and Fire Safety. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Solar Permit requirements across Nevada localities

Solar permit rules nationwide

Look up an existing Henderson permit record

Permit required $700
Get quotes