Do you need a patio permit in Arizona?
By Mario Bailey Last checked
- Always required
- 2
- of 8 jurisdictions
- Conditional
- 6
- depends on size or scope
- Not required
- 0
- exempt outright
Patio Permit rules nationwide, beyond Arizona.
Requirements and size thresholds for patio permits vary by locality. The table below compares what each Arizona county or city requires. Always confirm with the local office before starting.
Comparing states? See patio permit rules across every locality we cover.
The application steps and inspection sequence for patio permits come from the model code rather than from Arizona law, so they read the same wherever you build. We keep that walkthrough in one place: how a patio permit application and its inspections work, start to finish. What changes between Arizona jurisdictions is below: who requires a permit, what they charge, and which office you file with.
Swipe sideways to see thresholds and confidence.
| Locality | Permit required? | Typical threshold | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chandler | Conditional | An open, unattached patio slab no more than 200 sq ft in area and not more than 30 inches above grade falls under the same code exemption as an unattached deck and does not require a permit; a patio cover (roofed structure) requires a permit regardless of size, per the city's Patio Covers guidance. | From an official source |
| Gilbert | Conditional | Only one-story detached non-habitable accessory structures up to 200 square feet are exempt from permit; attached patio covers and larger structures require a building permit. | From an official source |
| Maricopa County | Conditional | attached patio cover or patio enclosure connected to the house requires a building permit; ground-level open patio slab does not | From an official source |
| Mesa | Conditional | open ground-level patio slabs do not require a permit; covered patio structures or enclosed patio rooms require a permit | From an official source |
| Peoria | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Phoenix | Yes | Not specified | From an official source |
| Pima County | Conditional | An open, ground-level patio slab counts as non-structural flat work not more than 30 inches above adjacent grade and does not require a permit; enclosing a porch or patio (adding walls, screens, or a roof enclosure) requires a permit. | From an official source |
| Scottsdale | Conditional | open patio slabs not more than 30 inches above grade do not require a permit; covered patio structures and patio enclosures do require a permit | Confirmed on official page |
| No localities match your filter. | |||
What a patio permit costs in Arizona
6 Arizona jurisdictions we cover publish a fee figure for this work. Each line is quoted from that office's own schedule and linked to its citation. The figures are not comparable to one another: some are flat minimums, some a percentage of job value, some charged per fixture, so what you pay depends on which schedule applies and on your job's valuation.
No patio-cover-specific fee line, patio covers are billed as a standard building permit by valuation with a $50 minimum per Fee Schedule 4.6.1
last checked
Valuation-based building permit fee, minimum $50; building plan review fee is 65 percent of the calculated permit fee.
last checked
Patio covers and enclosures are valuation based via the Residential Rate Table, $220 minimum for the $0 to $8,333 bracket plus a 4% technology fee capped at $800; light-gauge pre-manufactured metal patio covers are permit-exempt per the Residential Construction Homeowners Guide
last checked
Patio permits have no dedicated fee line, they are valuation-based building permits under Table A, minimum $195 base fee for valuation up to $1,000 then a rising per-$1,000 rate per the PDD Fee Schedule effective 1/20/2026
last checked
No patio-specific line; a patio cover requiring a permit is assessed under the general Buildings formula, base fee $69 plus 1.096% of the ICC square foot construction cost for the first 1,000 sq ft and 0.588% above that, per the Development Services Fee Schedule effective 2026-07-01
last checked
Patio covers are permitted as a covered non-A/C addition, $237 base fee plus $0.54 per square foot of covered area, per the FY26/27 Permit Fee Schedule - Residential (Res. 13661)
last checked
Jurisdictions not listed publish no dollar figure we could quote. Absence does not mean a permit is free.
Common questions about patio permits in Arizona
- Do I need a patio permit in Arizona?
- In Arizona it depends on the size of the job. Permits are issued locally, so the answer comes from your Arizona city or county rather than a single statewide rule. Of the 8 Arizona jurisdictions we have verified for patio work, 2 require a permit outright, 6 depend on the size or scope of the job, and 0 require none.
- Is there a patio permit exemption in Arizona?
- 6 of the 8 Arizona jurisdictions we cover set a threshold rather than a flat rule, so the same job can be exempt in one Arizona county and permitted in the next. The table above lists each Arizona jurisdiction's published threshold in its own words, with the source and the date we verified it.
Ready to move on your patio permit?
Hire it out
Sponsored
If a contractor builds your patio, they usually handle any required permit as part of the job. Compare a few bids before you commit.
Compare patio contractor quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.