Do you need a solar permit in Ohio?
By Mario Bailey Last checked
- Always required
- 4
- of 4 jurisdictions
- Conditional
- 0
- depends on size or scope
- Not required
- 0
- exempt outright
Solar Permit rules nationwide, beyond Ohio.
Requirements and size thresholds for solar permits vary by locality. The table below compares what each Ohio county or city requires. Always confirm with the local office before starting.
Comparing states? See solar permit rules across every locality we cover.
What to know about solar permits in Ohio
Solar permits in Virginia usually cover the rooftop PV system and its electrical interconnection. Costs depend on system size and your locality, and many homeowners weigh financing options such as solar loans against paying up front. Some Virginia localities use SolarAPP+ for faster automated approvals. Always use a licensed electrical or solar contractor, since the work must pass inspection.
The application steps and inspection sequence for solar permits come from the model code rather than from Ohio law, so they read the same wherever you build. We keep that walkthrough in one place: how a solar permit application and its inspections work, start to finish. What changes between Ohio jurisdictions is below: who requires a permit, what they charge, and which office you file with.
Swipe sideways to see thresholds and confidence.
| Locality | Permit required? | Typical threshold | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cincinnati | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Cleveland | Yes | Not specified | Confirmed on official page |
| Columbus | Yes | Not specified | From an official source |
| Franklin County | Yes | Not specified | From an official source |
| No localities match your filter. | |||
What a solar permit costs in Ohio
4 Ohio jurisdictions we cover publish a fee figure for this work. Each line is quoted from that office's own schedule and linked to its citation. The figures are not comparable to one another: some are flat minimums, some a percentage of job value, some charged per fixture, so what you pay depends on which schedule applies and on your job's valuation.
Building permit fees are based on project valuation under the Department of Buildings and Inspections Fee Schedule effective July 1, 2026 (for example, a $10,000.00 valuation RCO project with plans is $336.00), plus a $49.00 RCO application processing fee and the 1% state, 3% technology, 5% planning, 1% training and 1% financial recovery surcharges. IBI charges the electrical permit fee separately.
last checked
Cleveland's Solar Panel Guide publishes a residential table: residential building permit for alterations at $5.00 per $1,000 of project cost with a $30.00 minimum, new structures at $10.00 per $1,000 of project cost, electrical permit at $50.00 per 1,000 square feet with a $50.00 minimum, plan review $20.00 and zoning $20.00. It adds a 1 percent state surcharge on the plan review and permit fee for residential installations. The guide notes the zoning fee is paid at the beginning, the plan review fee when zoning is approved, and the permit fees when the permits are ready to be pulled.
last checked
Rooftop solar uses the standard electrical permit fee with no separate photovoltaic line, $275 with 2 inspections or $140 for minor work, per the 2026 fee schedule and the city's rooftop solar bulletin
last checked
Summary of PV Systems Form Fees, published by Franklin County EDP: Certificate of Zoning Compliance, Residential, 'Roof Mounted $25.00' and 'Ground Mounted $75.00' (Commercial $275.00); Building Permit '$120.00' with 'Plus: Each 100 sq. ft. thereafter $10.00'; 'Electric Permit $60.00'; 'Plan Review Fee $50.00'. The sheet adds: 'Note: There is a 1% building permit surcharge as required by the State of Ohio.' It also states 'Fees are not being raised in order to accommodate PV Systems Permits.'
last checked
Jurisdictions not listed publish no dollar figure we could quote. Absence does not mean a permit is free.
Common questions about solar permits in Ohio
- Do I need a solar permit in Ohio?
- In most of Ohio, yes. Permits are issued locally, so the answer comes from your Ohio city or county rather than a single statewide rule. Of the 4 Ohio jurisdictions we have verified for solar work, 4 require a permit outright, 0 depend on the size or scope of the job, and 0 require none.
Ready to move on your solar permit?
Hire it out
Before you sign, ask the contractor:
- Who pulls the permit, you or me, and is the permit fee included in the bid?
- Which inspections will this job need, and who meets the inspector on site?
- Is your contractor license active in this locality, and under which business name?