Electrical Permit in Columbus, Ohio
Permit required
Yes, a permit is required
For all new electrical work including panel modifications
Issued byCity of Columbus Department of Building and Zoning Services
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
An electrical permit is required for residential electrical work including modifying or updating an electrical panel in Columbus. Plan review is not required for standard panel work. Apply through the Accela Citizen Access Portal or in person at BZS using the electrical permit application.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
For all new electrical work including panel modifications
What an electrical permit costs in Columbus
How Columbus compares in Ohio
No Ohio jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.
| Jurisdiction | Permit needed? | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|
| Cincinnati | It depends | The City of Cincinnati fee schedule carries no electrical line item because... |
| Cleveland | It depends | Electrical Wiring and Equipment fee schedule effective January 2, 2014: "the... |
| Columbusthis page | Permit required | Standard electrical trade permit is $275 with 2 inspections, dropping to $140... |
| Franklin County | Permit required | Confirm the current fee with the City of Columbus before relying on county... |
How to apply in Columbus
In Columbus, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For Columbus, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For Columbus, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. City of Columbus Department of Building and Zoning Services sets the exact checklist for Columbus.
Where to apply in Columbus:
City of Columbus Department of Building and Zoning Services
- 111 N Front Street, Columbus, OH 43215
- Phone: 614-645-7433
- Email: bzs-intake@columbus.gov
Electrical Permit in Columbus compared with nearby Ohio localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each Ohio schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Columbus | Permit required | Not specified | Standard electrical trade permit is $275 with 2 inspections, dropping to $140 for work... | |
| Cincinnati | It depends | Not specified | The City of Cincinnati fee schedule carries no electrical line item because the work is... | |
| Cleveland | It depends | Not specified | Electrical Wiring and Equipment fee schedule effective January 2, 2014: "the minimum fee... | |
| Franklin County | Permit required | Not specified | Confirm the current fee with the City of Columbus before relying on county figures. |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Columbus, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In Columbus: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In Columbus: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Columbus: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In Columbus: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In Columbus: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In Columbus: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In Columbus: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Columbus permit portal or by phone at 614-645-7433.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for Columbus
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: For all new electrical work including panel modifications.
- Budget the fee. Standard electrical trade permit is $275 with 2 inspections, dropping to $140 for work on the Approved Minor Work Permit List, per the 2026 fee schedule effective 1/22/2026. Official fee schedule.
- Apply. In Columbus, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the Columbus permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. City of Columbus Department of Building and Zoning Services. Phone: 614-645-7433. Address: 111 N Front Street, Columbus, OH 43215.
- Plan for inspections. In Columbus, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Columbus
In 2024, Columbus authorized permits for 6,084 new residential housing units (828 single-family, 5,256 in multi-family buildings), valued at $923M, up from 5,283 the year before. That works out to about 6.9 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 884,356.
About Columbus
Columbus has about 420,068 housing units. The median home is valued at $234,500, against a median household income of $65,327. About 44% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1980.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in Columbus?
- An electrical permit is required for residential electrical work including modifying or updating an electrical panel in Columbus. Plan review is not required for standard panel work. Apply through the Accela Citizen Access Portal or in person at BZS using the electrical permit application. Always confirm with the City of Columbus Department of Building and Zoning Services before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in Columbus?
- Standard electrical trade permit is $275 with 2 inspections, dropping to $140 for work on the Approved Minor Work Permit List, per the 2026 fee schedule effective 1/22/2026. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Columbus?
- You can apply through the Columbus permit portal or contact the City of Columbus Department of Building and Zoning Services directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Columbus?
- Under Ohio law (OAC 4101:8-1-01 Section 105.1; R.C. 3791.04(A)(1)(b); R.C. Chapter 4740): Ohio has no statewide general contractor license, so the Residential Code of Ohio names the property owner directly as an authorized permit applicant: an owner or authorized agent who intends to construct, alter, repair, or change the occupancy of a residential building must first make application to the local certified building department and obtain approval, meaning a homeowner may pull their own permit and act as their own contractor. Certain specialty trades, HVAC, refrigeration, and hydronics contractors, are separately licensed statewide under R.C. Chapter 4740, and no homeowner exemption from that licensing requirement could be found in the chapter's text. In a county, township, or municipality with no residential building department certified by the state Board of Building Standards, R.C. 3791.04(A)(1)(b) and the Residential Code of Ohio's administrative rule both say the owner is not required to submit construction documents, seek approval, request inspections, or obtain a certificate of occupancy at all, which removes the state permitting framework, and with it the owner-builder question, in those jurisdictions. Confirm how Columbus applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Columbus
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deck Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Flat $350 fee for a 1-2-3 family deck permit covering three inspections, per the 2026... |
| Fence Permit | It depends | fence over 6 ft in height requires a permit; fence 6 ft or under does not | Flat $300 fee with 2 inspections, applying only to fences over 6 feet since shorter... |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Mechanical work uses the combined trade line, $275 standard with 2 inspections or $140... |
| Patio Permit | No permit needed | Not specified | Not published |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Plumbing falls under the combined trade line, $275 standard with 2 inspections or $140... |
| Pool Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Above-ground pools are a flat $100 with 1 inspection, in-ground pools $300 with 2... |
| Roof Replacement Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Flat $140 covers the combined roof, siding, windows and doors permit with a single... |
| Shed Permit | It depends | shed under 200 sq ft does not require a permit; shed 200 sq ft or larger requires a permit and plan review | Sheds over 200 square feet bill under the alterations and accessory structures line at... |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Rooftop solar uses the standard electrical permit fee with no separate photovoltaic... |
Electrical Permit in other Ohio localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Columbus documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for Columbus was verified. 2 official sources: columbus.gov, columbus.gov; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of Columbus Department of Building and Zoning Services. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across Ohio localities