Florida / Tampa

EV Charger Permit in Tampa, Florida

Permit required

Yes, a permit is required

Before installing a hard-wired EV charger or a new circuit or receptacle for one.

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued byCity of Tampa Development & Growth Management Department, Construction Services Division

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

The City of Tampa publishes nothing specific to EV chargers; installing one means installing or extending an electrical system, which needs a permit under the City Code, and the only electrical exemptions are minor repairs, temporary testing systems and utility equipment. The City's trade-permit list does not name EV chargers, so whether one fits an electrical trade permit or needs a Building (BLD) permit is not stated.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

A licensed electrician typically pulls the electrical permit as part of the install. If you have not picked one yet, compare a few quotes first.

Compare electrician quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

Before installing a hard-wired EV charger or a new circuit or receptacle for one.

What an EV charger permit costs in Tampa

Line item
EV charger permitBy formula"Electrical (general) for all electrical-related activities not addressed below or any other fee table" $120.00, City of Tampa Trade Permit Fee Schedule ("Effective October 1, 2018", "Updated 2/16/2023"), residential (one and two family dwellings) column; no EV charger line item is published. Every permit also carries the Florida Building Permit Surcharge of 2.5% of permit value or $4.00 minimum, not included in the listed fees.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Tampa compares in Florida

No Florida jurisdiction we have verified sets a size threshold for this permit, so what actually differs between them is the fee.

JurisdictionPermit needed?Typical fee
Martin CountyPermit requiredFee schedule effective July 1, 2026: construction costs under $25,000 pay a...
MiamiPermit required"Residential less than estimated $2,500.00": $45.00
Tampathis pagePermit required...activities not addressed below or any other fee table" $120.00, City of...

How to apply in Tampa

In Tampa, in most of the US, installing a Level 2 (240 volt) home EV charger is handled as an electrical permit built around a load calculation and a single line diagram showing the new dedicated circuit. A Level 1 charger that simply plugs into an existing 120 volt outlet typically needs no permit unless new wiring is added.

What most EV charger permit applications include:

  • For Tampa, a Level 2 charger needs its own dedicated 240 volt circuit and requires an electrical permit with inspection, since each outlet installed for EV charging must be fed by an individual branch circuit with no other outlets on it (NEC 625.40).
  • For Tampa, the application includes an electrical load calculation showing the existing service panel has enough spare capacity for the added EVSE demand, worked out using the standard dwelling load calculation method (NEC 220.83).
  • For Tampa, the breaker or other overcurrent device feeding the charger must be sized for continuous duty, rated at not less than 125 percent of the equipment's maximum load (NEC 625.41).
  • Plan submittal typically includes a single line diagram showing conductor size, breaker size, conduit, and panel rating, plus the charger's manufacturer specifications, since the EVSE itself must be a listed product (NEC 625.5).
  • For charging equipment rated over 60 amps or over 150 volts to ground, the application has to show a disconnecting means installed in a readily accessible location and capable of being locked open (NEC 625.43).
  • For Tampa, the charger must be shown connected and fastened in place according to the manufacturer's installation instructions, whether it is hardwired or a plug in unit on a dedicated receptacle (NEC 625.44).

General submittal guidance from National Electrical Code (NFPA 70), Article 625 Electric Vehicle Charging System and Article 220 Load Calculations, 2017 to 2023 editions. Source. City of Tampa Development & Growth Management Department, Construction Services Division sets the exact checklist for Tampa.

Where to apply in Tampa:

City of Tampa Development & Growth Management Department, Construction Services Division

  • City Center at Hanna, 2555 E. Hanna Ave., Tampa, FL 33610
  • Phone: (813) 274-3100
  • Email: CSDHelp@tampagov.net

EV Charger Permit in Tampa compared with nearby Florida localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Florida schedule saysVerified
TampaPermit requiredAny size...electrical-related activities not addressed below or any other fee table" $120.00...
Martin CountyPermit requiredAny sizeFee schedule effective July 1, 2026: construction costs under $25,000 pay a $75 building...
MiamiPermit requiredAny size"Residential less than estimated $2,500.00": $45.00

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Tampa, a Level 2 EV charger installation gets a rough wiring inspection if any new conductors will be hidden inside walls, ceilings, or run underground, then a final inspection that checks the dedicated circuit, breaker sizing, any required GFCI protection, the disconnect, and the charger's listing before the permit closes.

  1. In Tampa: if new EVSE conductors will be concealed in a wall or ceiling, or run underground, they must pass a rough wiring inspection before being covered, since that inspection confirms the dedicated branch circuit required for the charger (NEC 625.40).
  2. In Tampa: at final inspection, the breaker or other overcurrent device serving the charger is checked to confirm it is properly rated for the continuous EV charging load (NEC 625.41).
  3. In Tampa: any receptacle installed for EV charging, as opposed to a hardwired connection, has to be checked for ground fault circuit interrupter protection (NEC 625.54).
  4. In Tampa: where the EVSE is rated over 60 amps or 150 volts to ground, the inspector confirms a lockable, readily accessible disconnecting means was installed (NEC 625.43).
  5. In Tampa: the inspector verifies the charger, along with its fittings and associated equipment, carries a nationally recognized testing laboratory listing (NEC 625.5).
  6. In Tampa: mounting height is checked against the manufacturer's instructions, with the coupling means generally required to sit at least 18 inches above an indoor floor or 24 inches above outdoor grade unless the equipment is listed otherwise (NEC 625.50).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Tampa permit portal or by phone at (813) 274-3100.

Inspection sequence from National Electrical Code (NFPA 70), Article 625 Electric Vehicle Charging System, 2017 to 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need an EV charger permit in Tampa?
The City of Tampa publishes nothing specific to EV chargers; installing one means installing or extending an electrical system, which needs a permit under the City Code, and the only electrical exemptions are minor repairs, temporary testing systems and utility equipment. The City's trade-permit list does not name EV chargers, so whether one fits an electrical trade permit or needs a Building (BLD) permit is not stated. Always confirm with the City of Tampa Development & Growth Management Department, Construction Services Division before starting.
How much does an EV charger permit cost in Tampa?
"Electrical (general) for all electrical-related activities not addressed below or any other fee table" $120.00, City of Tampa Trade Permit Fee Schedule ("Effective October 1, 2018", "Updated 2/16/2023"), residential (one and two family dwellings) column; no EV charger line item is published. Every permit also carries the Florida Building Permit Surcharge of 2.5% of permit value or $4.00 minimum, not included in the listed fees. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for an EV charger permit in Tampa?
You can apply through the Tampa permit portal or contact the City of Tampa Development & Growth Management Department, Construction Services Division directly. The links are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull an EV charger permit themselves in Tampa?
Under Florida law (F.S. 489.103(7)(a)-(c)): Florida lets you pull your own permit as an owner-builder under section 489.103(7), Florida Statutes, which exempts property owners from the contractor licensing law when they act as their own contractor and provide direct, onsite supervision of all work not performed by licensed contractors. The exemption covers building or improving a one-family or two-family residence or a farm outbuilding for your own occupancy or use, and commercial buildings only up to a $75,000 cost, and the property may not be built or improved for sale or lease. If you sell or lease the property within 1 year after completing the work, the law presumes it was built for sale or lease, which violates the exemption. To qualify, you must personally appear and sign the building permit application and sign a state-prescribed disclosure statement acknowledging that you are the party legally and financially responsible for the construction, that you must provide direct, onsite supervision, and that unlicensed people you use must be your own employees, bringing federal tax withholding and workers' compensation obligations. You may not hire an unlicensed person to act as your contractor and may not delegate supervision to anyone who is not licensed for the work being done; if these requirements are violated, the local permitting agency shall withhold final approval, revoke the permit, or pursue unlicensed-activity remedies. A separate narrow branch of the exemption also lets an owner take over and complete a permit on a one-family or two-family residence when the original contractor substantially completed the project. Confirm how Tampa applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Tampa

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Bathroom Remodel PermitIt dependsScope of work: finish-only work is exempt; fixture, plumbing, electrical or wall work is notFixture-only work: "Plumbing (general)" $120.00, City of Tampa Trade Permit Fee Schedule...
Deck PermitPermit requiredAny size...lists decks twice: "Accessory Structure (gazebo, deck, pergola, shed)" $177.00 and...
Electrical PermitPermit requiredAny size...electrical-related activities not addressed below or any other fee table" $120.00...
Fence PermitIt dependsHeight of the fence; masonry walls are handled as a separate wall permit type...(one and two family dwellings) column are "Privacy/Retaining Wall" $475.00 and...
HVAC PermitPermit requiredAny size"HVAC Equal Change-outs" $120.00 and "Mechanical (general) for all mechanical-related...
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredAny size...all plumbing-related activities not addressed below or any other fee table"...
Pool PermitIt dependsPrefabricated pools installed entirely above ground, accessory to a Group R-3 occupancy, holding no more than 5,000 gallons"In-Ground Pool/Spa" $716.00 and "Above-Ground Pool/Spa" $292.00, City of Tampa...
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependsArea of new roof covering, or of re-covering, re-roofing or repair of an existing roof covering"Roofing" $177.00, City of Tampa Trade Permit Fee Schedule ("Effective October 1, 2018"...
Shed PermitIt dependsFloor area of a one-story detached accessory structure used as a tool or storage shed, playhouse or similar use"Accessory Structure (gazebo, deck, pergola, shed)" $177.00, City of Tampa Miscellaneous...
Solar PermitPermit requiredAny size"Photovoltaic cells" $120.00 (ELECTRICAL), City of Tampa Trade Permit Fee Schedule...
Water Heater PermitPermit requiredAny size...plumbing-related activities not addressed below or any other fee table" $120.00...

EV Charger Permit in other Florida localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Tampa documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this EV charger permit page for Tampa was verified. 2 official sources: tampa.gov, library.municode.com; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with City of Tampa Development & Growth Management Department, Construction Services Division. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare EV Charger Permit requirements across Florida localities

EV charger permit rules nationwide

Permit required
Get quotes