Virginia / Spotsylvania County

Shed Permit in Spotsylvania County, Virginia

It depends

Sometimes, depending on the project

Before constructing any shed or accessory structure

Confirmed on official page Verified

Issued bySpotsylvania County Building Safety Office

By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources

Quick answer

In Spotsylvania County, sheds 256 square feet or larger require a building permit and may also require an environmental codes review. All sheds regardless of size require zoning approval and must meet setback requirements for their zoning district. Applications are submitted at the Permit Center. Contact the Building Safety Office at 540-507-7222 for requirements.

Typical threshold: building permit required for sheds 256 sq ft or larger; zoning approval required for all sheds.

Diagram of the 256 sq ft footprint area threshold for a shed permit in Spotsylvania County, Virginia
Threshold illustrated: 256 sq ft. Whether Spotsylvania County requires a permit above or below this measurement is stated in the verdict on this page, verified 2026-06-18.

Who is pulling this permit?

Hire it out

Sponsored

If a contractor builds or places your shed, they usually handle any required permit. Compare a few bids before you commit.

Compare contractor quotes on Angi

Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.

When a permit is usually needed

Before constructing any shed or accessory structure

What your shed permit must meet in Virginia

Virginia's 2021 Uniform Statewide Building Code, published as the 2021 Virginia Residential Code and effective January 18, 2024, lets a small detached shed skip the code's standard footing-depth rules entirely, provided it meets five specific conditions instead.

  • Virginia exempts one-story detached sheds, tool and storage buildings, and playhouses up to 256 square feet in area from the code's standard footing requirements, provided all of the listed conditions are met (13VAC5-63-210, R403.1 exception).
  • The shed's eave height must be 10 feet or less, and its finished floor cannot sit more than 18 inches above grade (13VAC5-63-210).
  • Ground-contact structural elements must be placed level on firm soil, and any wood touching the ground must be approved pressure-preservative-treated for ground contact (13VAC5-63-210).
  • Even without a conventional footing, the shed must still be anchored to withstand the code's required wind loads (13VAC5-63-210).
  • The exempted shed must be light-frame construction of repetitive wood or light-gauge steel framing with lightweight walls and roof; slate, tile, brick, or masonry construction disqualifies it (13VAC5-63-210).

Based on 2021 Virginia Residential Code, Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code 13VAC5-63-210 (Section R403.1 exceptions). Read the code. Local amendments can be stricter; confirm the current requirement with your office before you build.

What a shed permit costs in Spotsylvania County

Line item
shed permitBy formulaAn accelerated one-story shed 256 sq ft or less without electricity is a flat $65; a shed over 256 sq ft takes the $230 deposit for non-accelerated accessory structures, per the county accessories packet under the 7/1/2025 Unified Fee Schedule.
Fee schedule in forceOfficial scheduleRead . Fees are the jurisdiction’s; we do not mark them up or estimate them.

How Spotsylvania County compares in Virginia

JurisdictionPermit needed?Threshold
Arlington CountyIt dependsOne story detached tool and storage sheds, playhouses and similar structures are exempt from a building permit when the building area does not exceed 256 square feet.
Chesterfield CountyIt dependssheds 256 sq ft or less require no permit; sheds 257 sq ft or larger (up to 400 sq ft) require a building permit
Culpeper CountyIt dependsover 256 sq ft
Fairfax CountyIt dependssingle-story shed 256 sq ft or larger requires a building permit; under 256 sq ft no permit required
Fauquier CountyIt dependssingle-story structures under 256 sq ft are exempt from building permit; 256 sq ft or larger requires a building and zoning permit
Henrico CountyIt dependssheds and playhouses over 256 sq ft or more than one story require a building permit; 256 sq ft or less and only one story is exempt
Spotsylvania Countythis pageIt dependsbuilding permit required for sheds 256 sq ft or larger; zoning approval required for all sheds

Closest shed permit thresholds outside Virginia

Jurisdictions we cover whose limit sits nearest Spotsylvania County's 256 sq ft.

  • Austin, Texas, one-story detached accessory structures used as tool or storage sheds with floor area no greater than 200 sq ft and no more than 15 ft in height and no plumbing and not in a floodplain are exempt
  • Baton Rouge, Louisiana, floor area of a detached accessory structure
  • Bellevue, Washington, detached storage sheds playhouses or gazebos with a floor area of 200 square feet or less do not require a building permit; structures over 200 square feet require a permit
  • Clark County, Nevada, sheds over 200 sq ft require a building permit; storage sheds 200 sq ft or under may be exempt under Building Administrative Code Section 22.02.190

How to apply in Spotsylvania County

In Spotsylvania County, a residential shed permit application, once the shed is large enough to require one, is a set of construction documents that show what will be built and prove it meets the adopted residential code. In practice that means a written permit application, a scaled site plan locating the shed and its distances to the property lines, and construction documents covering the shed's foundation or anchoring system and its framing.

What most shed permit applications include:

  • For Spotsylvania County, a written permit application identifying the proposed work and describing the property by its address or legal description, filed with the building department before construction begins (IRC R105.3).
  • For Spotsylvania County, a scaled site plan showing the shed's size and location and its dimensioned distances to all property lines so required setbacks can be verified before the permit is issued (IRC R106.2).
  • Construction documents showing the shed's foundation: freestanding accessory structures at or under the code's small-structure size and eave-height limits (600 square feet and a 10 foot eave height in the model code) are exempt from continuous footings but must still be shown supported on undisturbed soil or engineered fill and anchored to resist wind-induced uplift and overturning (IRC R403.1).
  • Where the shed does sit on a continuous foundation with a wood sill plate, anchor bolt or approved strap details tying the sill plate to the foundation (IRC R403.1.6).
  • Roof framing details showing the rafter-to-wall or truss-to-wall connections, since even a shed exempt from continuous footings must be anchored to resist wind-induced uplift and overturning (IRC R403.1; R802.11).

General submittal guidance from IRC R105.3 (permit application), R106.2 (site plan), R403.1 (footings and anchorage for accessory structures), and R403.1.6 (sill anchorage), 2021 IRC. Source. Spotsylvania County Building Safety Office sets the exact checklist for Spotsylvania County.

Where to apply in Spotsylvania County:

Spotsylvania County Building Safety Office

  • 9019 Old Battlefield Boulevard, Suite 100, Spotsylvania, VA 22553
  • Phone: 540-507-7222

Shed Permit in Spotsylvania County compared with nearby Virginia localities

LocalityPermit needed?ThresholdWhat each Virginia schedule saysVerified
Spotsylvania CountyIt dependsbuilding permit required for sheds 256 sq ft or larger; zoning approval required for all shedsAn accelerated one-story shed 256 sq ft or less without electricity is a flat $65
Arlington CountyIt dependsOne story detached tool and storage sheds, playhouses and similar structures are exempt from a building permit when the building area does not exceed 256 square feet.Fees per FY27 ISD fee schedule
Chesterfield CountyIt dependssheds 256 sq ft or less require no permit; sheds 257 sq ft or larger (up to 400 sq ft) require a building permitNo permit fee for sheds 256 sq ft or less
Culpeper CountyIt dependsover 256 sq ftNot published
Fairfax CountyIt dependssingle-story shed 256 sq ft or larger requires a building permit; under 256 sq ft no permit requiredSheds over 256 square feet are billed as a new building under Table 1's area rate, $0.15...

Inspections and closing out your permit

In Spotsylvania County, a permitted shed is inspected in stages as it goes up: the foundation or the anchors that hold it down before they are covered, the framing before it is enclosed, and a final inspection once the shed is finished. Each stage checks the items that would be hidden or unsafe if skipped.

  1. Foundation or anchor inspection in Spotsylvania County: called after any required footings, piers, or ground anchors are set and any forms or reinforcing steel are in place, but before concrete is placed, so the foundation or anchoring system can be verified before it is covered (IRC R109.1.1).
  2. Frame inspection in Spotsylvania County: after the shed is framed, sheathed, and braced, the inspector checks the framing, bracing, fasteners, and the roof connections that resist wind uplift, before those elements are covered (IRC R109.1.4 frame inspection; R403.1 anchorage).
  3. Final inspection in Spotsylvania County: made after the permitted work is complete and before the shed is used; work may not proceed past any inspection stage without the building official's approval (IRC R109.1.6 final inspection; R109.4 approval required).
  4. In Spotsylvania County: for a pre-fabricated or kit shed, the manufacturer's installation instructions must be on site at the time of inspection so the inspector can confirm the anchoring and assembly match the design (IRC R106.1.2).

Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Call Spotsylvania County at 540-507-7222 to schedule.

Inspection sequence from IRC R109.1.1 (foundation inspection), R109.1.4 (frame inspection), R109.1.6 (final inspection), and R106.1.2 (manufacturer's instructions on site), 2021 IRC. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.

Permitting activity in Spotsylvania County

In 2024, Spotsylvania County authorized permits for 707 new residential housing units, valued at $258M, down from 1,089 the year before. That works out to about 4.7 permits per 1,000 residents.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 152,021.

About Spotsylvania County

Spotsylvania County has about 54,020 housing units. The median home is valued at $375,000, against a median household income of $109,576. About 80% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1996.

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.

Frequently asked questions

Do you need a shed permit in Spotsylvania County?
In Spotsylvania County, sheds 256 square feet or larger require a building permit and may also require an environmental codes review. All sheds regardless of size require zoning approval and must meet setback requirements for their zoning district. Applications are submitted at the Permit Center. Contact the Building Safety Office at 540-507-7222 for requirements. Building permit required for sheds 256 sq ft or larger; zoning approval required for all sheds. Always confirm with the office before starting.
How much does a shed permit cost in Spotsylvania County?
An accelerated one-story shed 256 sq ft or less without electricity is a flat $65; a shed over 256 sq ft takes the $230 deposit for non-accelerated accessory structures, per the county accessories packet under the 7/1/2025 Unified Fee Schedule. See the official fee schedule for current amounts.
Where do you apply for a shed permit in Spotsylvania County?
Apply through the Spotsylvania County Building Safety Office. The official permit page and contact details are listed on this page.
Can a homeowner pull a shed permit themselves in Spotsylvania County?
Under Virginia law (Va. Code 54.1-1101(A); 13VAC5-63-80 (USBC Sections 108.3, 108.4)): Yes. Va. Code 54.1-1101(A) exempts any person who performs or supervises construction, removal, repair, or improvement of no more than one primary residence owned by them and for their own use during any 24-month period. The exemption covers the whole licensing chapter, including tradesman licensing for electrical, plumbing, and HVAC, so it reaches trade work on the owner's own primary residence. Under the USBC the permit applicant may be the owner or the owner's agent, and an applicant may file a written statement that they are not subject to licensure instead of proof of license. Limits: one primary residence per 24 months, for the owner's own use; rental and investment property work is not covered. Confirm how Spotsylvania County applies this before you apply.

From the Library

What else needs a permit in Spotsylvania County

Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.

ProjectPermit needed?ThresholdTypical fee
Bathroom Remodel PermitIt dependsNot specifiedInterior renovation building fee runs $0.34 per square foot with a $180 minimum, plus a...
Deck PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedDecks with or without electric needing no plan review are a flat $160
Electrical PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedMinimum electrical permit is $100, totaling $147 over the counter after the 2% building...
EV Charger PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedNot published
Fence PermitNo permit neededNot specifiedNot published
HVAC PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedHVAC or furnace replacement, or a new unit for an existing home, is a flat $147 covering...
Patio PermitIt dependson-grade concrete or paver patios need no building permit; a permit is required for covered patios, patio covers, or slabs designed to support a future structureNot published
Plumbing PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedMinimum plumbing permit is $100, totaling $147 over the counter after the 2% building...
Pool PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedResidential above-ground pools and hot tubs are $150, above-ground pools with a deck...
Roof Replacement PermitIt dependslike-for-like replacement of roof covering on one- and two-family homes is exempt statewide in areas with nominal design wind speed of 100 mph or less; a permit is required when roof sheathing or framing is replaced, and may be required in historic districts or flood hazard areasNot published
Solar PermitPermit requiredNot specifiedRoof or ground mounted solar panels take a $230 deposit ($100 building plus $50 zoning...
Water Heater PermitIt dependsNot specifiedWater heater replacement is a flat $147 covering the $100 base plus 2% surcharge and $45...

Shed Permit in other Virginia localities

Everything above, sourced

Code references

National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Spotsylvania County documents; the office above sets the local rules.

How this shed permit page for Spotsylvania County was verified. 3 official sources: spotsylvania.va.us, spotsylvania.va.us, spotsylvania.va.us; fee schedule: official document. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Spotsylvania County Building Safety Office. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.

Last checked: Report an error on this page

Compare Shed Permit requirements across Virginia localities

Shed permit rules nationwide

It depends
Get quotes