Electrical Permit in Jersey City, New Jersey
Permit required
We could not confirm this
For all residential electrical work requiring a permit under NJ UCC
Issued byDivision of the Construction Code Official
By Mario Bailey, verified against official sources
Quick answer
Jersey City enforces the New Jersey Uniform Construction Code which requires an electrical subcode permit for residential electrical work including new wiring, service upgrades, and panel work. Electrical technical section forms (tech cards) must be submitted through the portal and in person at the Division office.
Who is pulling this permit?
Apply yourself
Hire it out
Sponsored
Electrical permits are usually pulled by the licensed electrician doing the job. If you are still choosing one, compare a few quotes first.
Compare electrician quotes on Angi
Sponsored link. PermitNotebook may earn a fee if you request quotes through it. Partners never influence our permit data.
When a permit is usually needed
For all residential electrical work requiring a permit under NJ UCC
What an electrical permit costs in Jersey City
How to apply in Jersey City
In Jersey City, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished.
What most electrical permit applications include:
- Before any electrical work begins, the owner or an authorized agent must first apply to the building official and obtain the required permit (IRC R105.1).
- For Jersey City, the written application must identify and describe the electrical work covered by the permit and describe the property, such as by street address, well enough to locate the job (IRC R105.3).
- For Jersey City, the application must be accompanied by construction documents (plans) and any other information the permit office requires, and must be signed by the applicant or an authorized agent (IRC R105.3).
- Certain minor or like-for-like electrical jobs, such as replacing a branch-circuit breaker of the required capacity in the same location, are commonly exempt from needing a separate permit (IRC R105.2).
- Once issued, the building permit or a copy of it must be kept at the job site until the project is complete (IRC R105.7).
General submittal guidance from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R105, Permits (2015 and 2021 editions, as locally adopted). Source. Division of the Construction Code Official sets the exact checklist for Jersey City.
Where to apply in Jersey City:
Division of the Construction Code Official
- City Hall Annex, 364 MLK Drive, Jersey City, NJ 07305
- Phone: (201) 547-5055
- Email: buildingpermits@jcnj.org
Electrical Permit in Jersey City compared with nearby New Jersey localities
| Locality | Permit needed? | Threshold | What each New Jersey schedule says | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jersey City | Permit required | Not specified | Electrical subcode charges $25 for the first block of 1 to 10 receptacles, fixtures or... | |
| Newark | It depends | Not specified | Newark municipal code Chapter 7:2-3.2b: receptacles and fixtures, first 50 at $58 and... |
Inspections and closing out your permit
In Jersey City, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
- In Jersey City: a rough-in inspection of the electrical wiring is required before it is covered or concealed by insulation, drywall, or other finish material, and before fixtures or appliances are set (IRC R109.1.2).
- In Jersey City: the framing inspection cannot proceed until the plumbing, mechanical, and electrical rough-in inspections have all been approved (IRC R109.1.4).
- In Jersey City: ground-fault circuit-interrupter (GFCI) protection is checked at receptacles in bathrooms, kitchens, garages, basements, crawl spaces, outdoors, and other damp or wet locations (NEC 210.8(A)).
- In Jersey City: arc-fault circuit-interrupter (AFCI) protection is verified on branch circuits serving bedrooms, living areas, and most other habitable rooms (NEC 210.12(A)).
- In Jersey City: panelboards must carry a circuit directory that legibly and specifically identifies the purpose of each circuit, not a vague label (NEC 408.4).
- In Jersey City: the service disconnect must be installed in a readily accessible location, either outside the structure or just inside the point where the service conductors enter (NEC 230.70).
- In Jersey City: a final inspection is made only after all permitted electrical work is complete, and the wiring cannot be used or the space occupied until it passes (IRC R109.1.6).
Schedule each inspection in advance and pass the final before you use the work or close the permit. Request inspections through the Jersey City permit portal or by phone at (201) 547-5055.
Inspection sequence from International Residential Code (IRC), Section R109, Required Inspections, and NFPA 70 National Electrical Code (NEC), 2020 and 2023 editions. Source. An open permit left un-inspected can surface later in a title search or home sale.
Your Electrical Permit checklist for Jersey City
- Confirm the requirement. Yes, a permit is required. Usually needed: For all residential electrical work requiring a permit under NJ UCC.
- Budget the fee. Electrical subcode charges $25 for the first block of 1 to 10 receptacles, fixtures or devices and $25 for each additional block of up to 25, per city ordinance Ch. 160-1.
- Apply. In Jersey City, in most US jurisdictions, the property owner or a licensed electrician applies for an electrical permit before work starts, describing the scope of work and the property and typically attaching plans. Some minor, like-for-like electrical repairs are commonly exempt, and once issued the permit is kept on site until the job is finished. Start at the Jersey City permit portal.
- Keep the office details handy. Division of the Construction Code Official. Phone: (201) 547-5055. Address: City Hall Annex, 364 MLK Drive, Jersey City, NJ 07305.
- Plan for inspections. In Jersey City, electrical work under a permit is inspected at least twice: a rough-in inspection of the wiring before it is covered by drywall or insulation, and a final inspection once all devices, panels, and labeling are complete. Inspectors also check specific safety items along the way, such as GFCI and AFCI protection, panel circuit directories, and the service disconnect location.
Compiled from the official sources on this page. Last checked .
Permitting activity in Jersey City
In 2024, Jersey City authorized permits for 2,601 new residential housing units (185 single-family, 2,416 in multi-family buildings), valued at $447M, up from 2,339 the year before. That works out to about 9.9 permits per 1,000 residents.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Building Permits Survey, 2024 annual data · population 262,664.
About Jersey City
Jersey City has about 132,636 housing units. The median home is valued at $534,500, against a median household income of $94,813. About 29% of homes are owner-occupied, and the typical home was built around 1970.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023 5-year.
Frequently asked questions
- Do you need an electrical permit in Jersey City?
- Jersey City enforces the New Jersey Uniform Construction Code which requires an electrical subcode permit for residential electrical work including new wiring, service upgrades, and panel work. Electrical technical section forms (tech cards) must be submitted through the portal and in person at the Division office. Always confirm with the Division of the Construction Code Official before starting.
- How much does an electrical permit cost in Jersey City?
- Electrical subcode charges $25 for the first block of 1 to 10 receptacles, fixtures or devices and $25 for each additional block of up to 25, per city ordinance Ch. 160-1. Contact the office for current amounts.
- Where do you apply for an electrical permit in Jersey City?
- You can apply through the Jersey City permit portal or contact the Division of the Construction Code Official directly. The links are listed on this page.
- Can a homeowner pull an electrical permit themselves in Jersey City?
- Under New Jersey law (N.J.A.C. 5:23-2.15(b)2i, (b)3i, (b)1i): Yes, for an owner-occupied single-family home. The UCC provides that plumbing, electrical, heating, ventilating, air conditioning, and refrigeration work shall not be undertaken except by licensed persons, except in the case of a single-family homeowner on his or her own dwelling. The same section extends the homeowner exception to LP-gas work. A homeowner acting as their own general contractor on a new one- or two-family dwelling files an affidavit acknowledging the work is not covered by the New Home Warranty program. The homeowner provision covers the owner's own dwelling only; work on rentals, multifamily buildings, or others' homes requires licensed contractors. Confirm how Jersey City applies this before you apply.
From the Library
What else needs a permit in Jersey City
Every other permit type we have verified for this jurisdiction, with the rule that applies here.
| Project | Permit needed? | Threshold | Typical fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bathroom Remodel Permit | It depends | Not specified | Building subcode charges $15 per $1,000 of estimated renovation cost with a $50 minimum... |
| Deck Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No dedicated deck line |
| EV Charger Permit | Permit required | Not specified | No EV-specific line |
| Fence Permit | It depends | permit required if fence exceeds 6 feet or acts as a pool barrier | Not published |
| HVAC Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Charged per unit under the plumbing subcode apparatus table: $30 for an AC unit, $40 for... |
| Patio Permit | It depends | at-grade pavers or cement (concrete) patios do not require a construction-code permit (zoning approval is required separately); an elevated deck-type patio structure requires a construction permit | No dedicated patio line |
| Plumbing Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Plumbing subcode charges $10 per fixture such as a water closet, lavatory, sink or floor... |
| Pool Permit | It depends | permit required for all pools that can hold more than 24 inches of water | In-ground pools require $25 annual inspection fee invoiced in May |
| Roof Replacement Permit | No permit needed | Not specified | No dedicated roofing line |
| Shed Permit | It depends | no construction permit required for garden-type utility sheds 200 sq ft or less and 10 ft or less in height with no utility connections | No dedicated shed line |
| Solar Permit | Permit required | Not specified | The plumbing subcode lists a flat $35 fee for an active solar system, with electrical... |
| Water Heater Permit | Permit required | Not specified | Flat $30 fee for a water heater under the plumbing subcode, per city ordinance Ch. |
Electrical Permit in other New Jersey localities
Everything above, sourced
Code references
National and state model-code sections the general guidance on this page is drawn from. They are not Jersey City documents; the office above sets the local rules.
How this electrical permit page for Jersey City was verified. 2 official sources: jerseycitynj.gov, nj.gov. Last checked by Mario Bailey, not confirmed with Division of the Construction Code Official. Rules change; confirm before you build. How we verify.
Last checked: Report an error on this page
Compare Electrical Permit requirements across New Jersey localities